AFTINET submission on the Pacific Alliance FTA negotiations

July 2017: The Australian government has announced that it has begun negotiations with Pacific Alliance countries (Chile, Peru, Colombia and Mexico) and has called for submissions.

The Pacific Alliance is conducting simultaneous bilateral negotiations not only with Australia, but with New Zealand, Singapore and Canada.  This means there will not be a regional agreement, but a series of bilateral agreements, which will all be slightly different.

The first meeting of the Pacific Alliance countries and Australia will take place early in September to set the parameters for the negotiations, which are expected to take some years.

The danger is  that they may use the TPP text for some chapters, because Australia, Mexico, Chile and Peru participated in the TPP negotiations.

Subscribe to