Pacific Alliance FTA

The Australia -Pacific Alliance Free Trade agreement is a proposed agreement between Australia and the Pacific Alliance - Peru, Colombia, Chile and Mexico.

Negotiations began in July 2017,  were suspended for part of 2019 but resumed late in 2019 and are expected to continue in 2020.

AFTINET submission on the Pacific Alliance FTA negotiations

July 2017: The Australian government has announced that it has begun negotiations with Pacific Alliance countries (Chile, Peru, Colombia and Mexico) and has called for submissions.

The Pacific Alliance is conducting simultaneous bilateral negotiations not only with Australia, but with New Zealand, Singapore and Canada.  This means there will not be a regional agreement, but a series of bilateral agreements, which will all be slightly different.