RCEP JSCOT inquiry announced: submissions by April 16, implementing legislation after August

March 19, 2021: The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (RCEP) between Australia, New Zealand, China, Japan, South Korea and the 10 ASEAN countries was tabled in parliament on March 18.

The Joint Standing Committee on Treaties (JSCOT) has called for submissions by 16 April 2021, and is expected to hold public hearings in April-May.

Links to the treaty text and the National Interest Analysis and Regulatory Impact Statement are here.

The treaty must be tabled in Parliament for 20 sitting days, which expire in late August, and the JSCOT review will report after that.

Following the JSCOT report, parliament will debate and vote on the implementing legislation on tariffs and rules of origin (See the NIA, p. 13).

AFTINET has argued that the RCEP fails the human rights test and will make a detailed submission which will be circulated to member organisations for comment.