ASEAN/NZ/Australia Free Trade Agreement

The negotiations between ASEAN, New Zealand, and Australia for a Free Trade Agreement concluded at the ASEAN Economics Ministers Meeting on Closer Economic Relations in August 2008. The agreement was signed at the East Asia Summit in February 2009.

ASEAN is comprised of Burma, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Cambodia, Singapore, the Phillipines, Brunei, Laos, and Vietnam.

The inclusion of Burma in the agreement amplifies AFTINET's concerns about the need to ensure that our trading practices strengthen human rights commitments, not undermine them.

For more information see AFTINET's submission to the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties (2009) and the Asia Trade Taskforce (2005).

Visit the Australian Government website to see the full text of the agreement.